Spring Break with Van Gogh

My life at school is so crazed I barely have time anymore to blog on Read Between the hemLines. But I spent this past week at home for my spring break, it’s been quite relaxing and I finally have some time to blog. Yesterday my family spent the day in Chicago. Below I have posted my photo diary. Enjoy!

We started the day with brunch at Miss Ricky’s, an upscale diner on Wabash St. The food was absolutely phenomenal but the service was mediocre.

I had their specialty Green Smoothie and an egg white omelet with cheddar and spinach which came with an English muffin and hash browns on the side. (Disclaimer: I am not a foodie but I thought this food was especially pretty…maybe that’s what foodies say hm.)

My parents prefer to take nice pictures of my sister and me…

IMG_9951

But I snuck one of them anyways, how cute are they?

Hint for entering the Art Institute of Chicago: take the ramp from Millennium Park to the Modern Wing. It has a great view which makes for even greater pictures and you will skip the main entrance tourist lines.

IMG_9933

The Modern Wing of the Art Institute of Chicago

We saw Van Gogh’s Bedrooms, a special exhibit and it was incredible. It was about a 6 room exhibition that took you through the artist’s life, explaining in the process why these paintings were so significant. Moreover there was a 4D replica of the room and a video presentation on the process of how paint color fades over time. There were also at least 50 other Van Gogh paintings throughout the exhibit. I would HIGHLY recommend seeing Van Gogh’s Bedrooms if you can.

One of my favorite staircases in the museum.

IMG_9949

Leave a Reply

