New Years Resolutions

The new year brings a bittersweet sentiment: you have grown one year wiser but also you are reminded of how quickly time passes by. Nostalgia kicks in as you reflect.

As I reflect back I am proud of what I have accomplished but also feel driven to continue to do better as a student, as a daughter, as a friend, as a person.

With both the new year beginning and a new decade in my life, I start this year with a list of resolutions.

Early Riser

This semester I created my own miracle morning routine (which you can read about here) and I was pretty successful. However when the end of the semester workload got heavier and finals kicked in, I put the routine on hold when in hindsight I needed it most. So this year I resolve to continue with my routine even when things get stressful.

Shopaholic No More

After watching a documentary titled The True Cost, I resolve to no longer shop at fast fashion retailers such as Forever 21, Tobi and H&M. Not only will I save money, which is also one of my resolutions, but I will become more socially responsible and work to make a difference with the slow fashion movement. (Wondering what the slow fashion movement is? Read here.)

Loners aren’t Losers

Since moving to New York I have become severely more comfortable in my oneness. New York has forced me to become more independent, more mature and more confident. Since I also hope to study abroad this fall my confidence in my solidarity will be tested since I will be traveling alone often. I have also become more confident in my singledom when it comes to romantic relationships but this is something I want to continue to work on as well.

Blog More for Blog’s Sake!

With all of my other extracurriculars, internships and jobs during the school year by personal blog drops to my lowest priority. However, when I started Read Between the hemLines it was my escape. It still is but I need to remember that no matter how busy I am I should continue to blog at least once a week. It is not a chore but rather a cathartic stress reliever. I also plan to add more features to my blog such as a newsletter and a podcast. If you haven’t already, join the newsletter here and be on the lookout for my first podcast!

Live Presently

Last but not least I plan to live in the moment more. I get so wrapped up in my routines, social media, stress and more that I forget to literally take in my surroundings. I am lucky enough to live in a beautiful city with so much culture and beautiful sights that I need to slow down and appreciate it in more.

Cheers to a new year and lots of new beginnings!

One response to “New Years Resolutions

  1. I feel the “live presently” and it’s one of my goals too. I’m coming up on my last semester of college and while it is important to me as a whole goal, it takes on an even new meaning when this is the last semester of my college career and the last one with my friends and sisters. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

