Alex and Ani appreciation post

FullSizeRender 2

When Alex and Ani began over ten years ago, founder Carolyn Rafaelian could not have fathomed the success her company would gain. The company has been growing exponentially at a steadfast rate ever since its conception. In fact, this past August Alex and Ani was ranked #2 on the Inc. Top Ten list for fastest-growing women-led companies. Girl power, yeah!

The company prides itself in three regards. The first regard being a leading pioneer of corporate consciousness. They hold high quality products and “thoughtfully manufactured pieces” to the upmost importance. Furthermore, all of their products are hand crafted in America and their stores are strategically placed on cities’ main streets “to encourage growth in local economies.”

Alex and Ani also prides itself in being an eco-conscious business with sustainable products. To the company, sustainability not only has to do with “the wellbeing of our planet but also our communities, and our individual paths.” And they strive to “empower individuals to actively create the world they want to live in” thus creating more than a brand, but a lifestyle.

Finally, and in my opinion most importantly, Alex and Ani prides itself in being family oriented. To its core, everything reflects back to love and family. For example, the company’s namesake is a combination of Rafaelian’s two daughter’s names. And the company’s sustainability efforts not only preserve our planet, but they preserve family memories and tradition. On their website, they state, “Our items are designed for longevity, as artisanal pieces that can be passed from one generation to the next.”

I got my first Alex and Ani product last Valentine’s Day as a gift from my dad. It was the NYU charm bangle. Then when I visited New York for NYU’s Weekend on the Square, I stopped in to the SoHo store and my mom bought me The Path of Life charm bangle. I treated myself to the Because I am a Girl charm bangle as well. Last June when I graduated from high school, I received the 2014 Graduation Cap Charm bangle from my parents. Finally, the G initial charm bangle was the latest addition to my collection.

IMG_4543

Together they act as a unique type of “charm bracelet” that recounts memories and milestones. Each bangle has a story and when worn individually, they mean just as much to me. As cheesy as it may sound, every time I hear the infamous jingle that the bangles produce, I am reminded of how blessed my life is, how loved the people in my life make me feel, and the life I want to lead; a life filled with love and surrounded by family. Which evidently, is what the foundation Alex and Ani is built upon.

IMG_4290

IMG_4542

Leave a Reply

