TOMS: Because fashion is about more than just shoes.

oneforone-banner

Recently, I was at my fashion internship and a TOMS representative came to talk to us at our meeting. Sure I had heard about TOMS. I even owned a pair or two (okay 4).  Yeah I knew they donated a pair of shoes for every pair purchased but what I didn’t know was the impact that the TOMS rep would have on me. For those of you who don’t know, TOMS was started in 2006 when Blake Mycoskie was traveling in Argentina. He befriended some kids and noticed that none of them were wearing shoes! Blake went back to the states with the idea to start a company that would match every pair of shoes purchased with a new pair of shoes given to a child in need. He started out with a mere 10,000 shoes and within one year he was able to return to Argentina with 10,000 pairs of shoes for children in need. The rest was history. Today, they have donated over 2 million pairs of new shoes to kids in over 50 countries worldwide. Their latest and greatest project is TOMS eyewear which utilizes the same One for One idea. For every pair of TOMS eyewear purchased a person will gain sight. How? Well they will either put money towards giving a person in need either prescription glasses, sigh-saving surgery, or medical treatment. And to think, this is only chapter two of TOMS “One for One” journey. After we had watched some awe-inspiring movies about the company and their trips to the countries they help, the representative then told us about how she became involved with TOMS. Another great story. One of things she said that really stuck with me was: “I realized I could put my passion for fashion towards helping others”. Needless to say, I walked out of my internship with a whole new perspective about both life in general and my future. I already have been mixing my passion for fashion with philanthropy by putting on a charity fashion show for the last two years, but I guess I never realized I could make a career out of it. So this blog post is a special shout out to TOMS and a big thank you to their phenomenal representative who came and informed us that fashion is about more than just about clothes. P.S. If you don’t own a pair of TOMS, go out and buy them right now. These shoes will change both your life and a child’s life. Just think of TOMS as an investment in another child’s future. Talk about money well spent!
blakes_bio_v1_14

One response to “TOMS: Because fashion is about more than just shoes.

  1. Hello, Happy Monday!

    First of all, I love your blog! It’s awesome to see you pursue your passion through this medium, keep it up!

    Also, thank you so much for coming to the TOMS meeting! I appreciate you coming & absorbing all of the information. Thank you so much for the sweet shout out in this post! You are awesome for sharing the One for One on your blog and telling the story so beautifully!

    Sounds like whatever you do in the future will be amazing!

    Thank you again, I hope you have a great week!

    -Kirsten

Leave a Reply

